Intensive Care for Unschoolers

Standard

 

Wow! I’m so late, I’m almost on time for this week. That’s sad, but I guess better late than never.

This week we want to…”

We planned to go to our first science co-op with a few friends this afternoon. There are a couple of things in the way at the moment. A sinus infection (me) and a lot of rain. I’m actually feeling a little better and the mom who is hosting said we all could just come hang out in her house. So we might still get to do it.

Also want to get some canning done this week. Tomatoes first. This is new, but I’m feeling adventurous.

The kids are…”

He has really been stuck on Ben10 Alien Force cames on Cartoonnetwork.com. He’s not only playing them, but he can create them too. It’s really fun seeing him so excited. Last night dh asked, ‘so do you think he’s learning anything on there?” I said, “YEAH!” He may not be learning what someone in Academia would say he needs to learning, but he sure is learning. The other day we were getting ready to leave for a playdate and I told him we had to be there at 1:00. That meant we had to finish getting dressed, eat some lunch, and drive there in 30 minutes. He shot back at me (and I do mean SHOT, as in rapid fire machine gun fire),”that’s 15 and 15. that’s how many minutes it’s gonna take. That makes 30.” It took me a minute to decypher what he had just wizzed at me, then I responded, yeah, that’s right. The wheels turning like a wind turbine in Kansas, he then let go (in rapid fire) 19 and 11, 18 and 12, 17 and 13, 16 and 14, and 15 and 15 all make 30 minutes!” After I picked my jaw up off the floor, formed a smile, and agreed. He knocked me back on the floor with, “God told me all that last night while I couldn’t sleep” !!! Now this wasn’t the first time this happened. About a week ago another math fact, that now eludes my brain, came wizzing out of my child that I knew I didn’t teach him and he informed me that God told him that the night before ~ when he couldn’t sleep. again. Now philosophically, I totally agree with this. The Bible says the Holy Spirit is our teacher. Stands to reason He’s gonna teach my child what he needs to know.

“I am learning….”

How to can veggies(spagetti sauce first, since we use a lot of it), then maybe corn. It’s been 30 years since I’ve shucked a bushel of corn. I have mixed feelings about that endeavor. LOL I would of course enlist some help.

I’m also about to embark on what feels like a huge undertaking. Maybe someone who has been here can help me. I got a prophecy about 2-3 yrs ago that I was going to write a book from my journal entries. I thought that was cool. Thought about it every once in a while as I wrote, but nothing serious. Well, about 2 weeks ago I got another prophecy (both of these were from people that don’t know me very well) saying the same thing. So it’s been on my mind recently to start gathering some of those journal entries. I also wondered about getting a book to help me gather my thoughts and get a plan.

“I am struggling with…”

Getting of this sinus infection. It really kicked my butt. I was starting to think I had the flu. I’ve never been so drained from a stinking sinus infection. The steriod shot and antibotics have already started helping. Thank you God.

“This week is the first time….”

Well, last week was the first time I made no cook pickles. The turned out pretty good, and I learned some things.

“I am grateful…”

I’m grateful for being in such a good place, spiritually and emotionally lately. I’ve been having really good quiet time with the Lord. My latest financial endeavor has been going pretty well. I’m taking life a little more in stride, in general any way.

When I was a child, I wanted to be ________ when I grew up

I wanted to be an architect, but my self esteem and confidence were so damaged from my early public school experiences, I thought there was absolutely no way I could do all the math. God has such a great sense of humor and of justice. It seems that I have been and will be designing our new house. BAHAHA! I love my God. HE ROCKS!

and since this is for this week and last week…

My favorite season is_____________because…

Fall. The coolness, the colors of the leaves, the football, Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

